It is the nature of all relations
to dip and dive through uncertainty
especially ones with emotional equations
be it friend, foe or family

I once shared such emotions
with a friend, now not so dear
we never put forth our intentions
cause we had succumbed to fear

I often shared this equation
with my mother, all caught up in prayer
because I chose not to pay attention
to the times she needed me to care

I always shared this relation
with loved ones who took the fall
because through all the tension
I never cared at all

In every single association
there was a mutual notion
the inability of the individual
to set his feelings in motion

so the default setting on display
was apathy and anxiety
many were lost along the way
to this dysfunctional deity

the reasons you may provide
to tell me that we could be otherwise
will only help me decide
how to guide us to our demise